My Epic Quest for a LinkedIn Top Voice Badge

Philip Charter ✍️
6 min readFeb 11, 2024

(a not-so-serious story with added badgers)

Picture by Philip Charter

As LinkedIn’s №1 self-proclaimed badger expert, I demand recognition. All I wanted was a Top Badger Voice badge to prove my expertise.

These digital trophies are doled out automatically to users who contribute comments to collaborative articles (so LinkedIn can harness your human mind to train its AI engine). But there is no collaborative AI article called ‘Badgers’. So how could I get the badge?

I looked for other options which people may confuse with badger:

🎖️Top Barger (for pushing in line)

🎖️Top Badgerer (for nagging)

🎖️Top Batcher (for writing and scheduling content)

…Nada.

So, my badger assistant and I decided to make the trip to LinkedIn HQ in Ireland. We boarded our Ryanair flight after Badger paid a €89.99 surcharge because his case was 0.12cm too big.

We set off on foot towards the mythical LinkedIn castle on the outskirts of Dublin to meet the Grand Wizard of AI. It is said only he can bestow powerful Top Voice badges.

--

--

Philip Charter ✍️

📝 I write books, I’m 1.95m tall, and I can fly! 🦸‍♂️ … one of these statements may be false. https://englishwritingcoach.uk/links